Mutual recognition agreements 


Since 2010 the Actuarial Society has offered its own Fellowship (FASSA) and Associateship (AMASSA) designations as internationally recognized professional qualifications.

International recognition is formalized by the signing of mutual recognition agreements (MRAs) between professional actuarial associations in different countries. MRAs recognize the equivalence of qualifications and facilitate admission to membership of associations in other countries with the corresponding professional designation, subject to certain conditions. 

The Actuarial Society has concluded MRAs with the following associations to date:

  • the Canadian Institute of Actuaries
  • Koninklijk Actuarieel Genootschap Netherland
  • the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries in the United Kingdom
  • the Institute of Actuaries of Australia
  • the Society of Actuaries in Ireland.
  • Deutche Aktuarvereinging
  • Actuarial Association of Europe

MRA: Canadian Institute of Actuaries

MRA:Koninklijk Actuarieel Genootschap (Netherland)

MRA: Institute and Faculty of Actuaries UK (pdf)

MRA: Institute of Actuaries of Australia (pdf)

MRA: Society of Actuaries in Ireland (pdf)

MRA: Deutche Aktuarvereiniging 2015

MRA-Actuarial Association of Europe (pdf)