Research Committee


The committee considers and reports to Council on the promotion of actuarial research in South Africa.


The committee’s objectives are to:

  • Actively support the development of actuarial research through the Actuarial Society’s education, CPD,

    standard setting, public policy and research activities.
  • Actively identify and promote opportunities for members working in research and facilitate communication, 

    discussion and liaison within the profession on relevant topics.
  • Contribute to the strategic direction of the Actuarial Society through research and, in so doing, to support

    the Actuarial Society brand promise of “thought leadership”.

Committee members

The committee members are as follows: 

 Committee member   Position
 Mike Walker  Chair
 Taryn Reddy   Investments
 Niel Fourie   IT & website
 Vernon Boulle (alternate: Ranti Mothapo)      

  Finance and Banking
 Stephen Burgess   Microinsurance
 Barry Childs   Grants & tenders, Healthcare
 Rob Dorrington   Education (SA0), AIDS, CSI
 Rinus du Plessis   Damages
 TBC   Retirement Matters
 Peter Johnstone   Prizes
 Gary Palser   Research fund, Life Assurance
 Dave Strugnell  
 Rob Thomson

  University libraries, research contacts, Financial    

  risks and ERM

 Natalie van de Coolwijk   Secretary, Short-term Insurance


The committee maintains minutes of its meetings and presents quarterly reports to Council. For information on these, contact Niel Fourie: nfourie@actuarialsociety.org.za

Contact information

Mike Walker:    walkerm@aforbes.co.za

Natalie van de Coolwijk: nataliev@natsure.co.za

Useful links

Visit the past presentations webpage for Research papers and presentations from past professional events of the Actuarial Society.

Relevant documents

Please refer to the Research Practice Area Activities for further detail on:

  • Research grants
  • Research tenders
  • Research methods
  • Research support
  • Research prizes 
  • Research output